Presented by the Geography Department


The Departmental Citation is awarded to one student each year in recognition of exceptional undergraduate work across all realms of geographical inquiry.


2019 Adriana Preciado
2018 Maximus Pevonak Yearian
2017 Jacob Liming
2016 Hannah Rogge
2015 Shannon Sietmann
2014 Maia Wachtel
2013 Julia Laure Uyttewaal
2012 Zhen Liu
2011 Jessica Pizzagoni
2010 Sara Malik
2009 Ryan Edwards
2008 Jennifer Ayuko Hirst
2007 Veronique Halcyona Powell
2006 Joen Madonna
2005 Sebastian Petty
2004 Erin Hansen Reding
2003 Sudhir Thomas Vadaketh
2002 Sanaz Memarsadeghi
2001 Marjorie Elizabeth Hamm
2000 Adrine Aida Arakelian
1999 Ryan Galt
1998 Gundars Valdis Augusts
1997 Dianne Elizabeth Meredith
1996 Kathleen Marie Mikulis
1995 Matthew George Jalbert
1994 Richard Louis Worthington
1993 Lamont Comstock Allen
1992 Austin Hill Shaw
1991 Robert Travis
1990 Kim Musser
1989 Romy Lee Bauer
1988 Timothy John Sturgeon
1987 Steven John Rypins
1986 Richard Allen Griggs
1985 David Lee Aagesen
1984 Kim Charnofsky
1983 Stanley Francis Stevens
1982 Gerald Francis Smith
1981 Robert Thomas Argenbright
1980 Ronald I. Dorn, Sally Lorraine Horn
1979 Jonathan Louis Golin
1978 Anne Curtis Browne
1977 Kim Riley Normoyle
1976 Alan Beaumont Porter
1975 Mary Anne Adamson
1974 Margaret Knight Riddall
1973 Julie Odenweller
1972 G. Donald Bain, David N. Cole
1971 Richard William Carter
1970 Alan William Ritch
1969 Sharon Louise Vannucci
1968 Diana Carolyn Ice
1967 Mary Louise Yost
1965 Marsha June Bratten
1964 William A. Bowen


The Lucille McClish Oberlander Award was established in 1989 in memory of Lucille McClish Oberlander in order to create an annual award for the outstanding undergrad major in physical geography. Lucille was the wife of geomorphologist Prof Ted Oberlander (who retired from our dept in 1993). Mrs. Oberlander was a former secretary in our Dept from about 1960 to 1963 and she was also an undergraduate major in our department, graduating in 1958.

2019 Justin Nghiem
2018 Sol Cummings
2017 Zach Owens
2016 Stephanie Kinser
2015 Marcea Ennamorato
2014 Marie Rhondelle Champagne
2013 Michele Gabbay Forman
2012 Andrew Henning
2011 Justin Laundre
2010 Maxwell Cutty
2009 Dylan Glover
2008 Kevin Louis Kahn
2007 Catherine Morley Strom
2006 Daylin Wade
2005 Tyler Montgomery
2004 Kieran Leigh Casey
2003 Cherry Vee Gacusan Zamora
2002 Nicholas Seong Chul Buchanan
2001 not awarded
2000 not awarded
1999 Landis Bennett
1998 Victoria Marie Zaldua
1997 David Andrew Rose
1996 Francis James Smith
1995 Jacob Henry Schweitzer
1994 Richard Louis Worthington


The Departmental Cartography Award is presented annually to the undergraduate student who best employs cartographic practice and principles to their geography education.

2019 Fernando Navarro
2017 Joan Reuter
2016 Long Yiu Fung
2015 Annaleigh Yahata
2014 Daniel A. Contreras (cartography), Christopher Carson (GIS)
2013 Terra N. Tice
2012 Franklin P. Dingemans
2011 Emma Tome
2010 Sherrie “Syd” Wayman
2009 Kathleen Maloney Koscielak
2008 Aaron Taylor Lui
2007 Jennifer M. Sta. Ines
2006 Joshua Borkowski
2005 Michael Arribage
2004 Jesusa Magsaysay Romero
2003 Chadwick Mauritz Johnson
2002 Timothy Beck Savage, Jr.
2001 Kelly Aileen Dickeson
2000 Molly Meghan Endejan Green
1999 Darin Jensen
1998 Victoria Marie Zaldua
1997 Jenna Morvren Loyd
1996 Jennifer Freeman
1995 Rini Y. Keagy


An Award Given at the discretion of the Chair of the Department

2007 Agata Surma
2004 April Ruth Peck
2002 Chad A. Gallagher


The Geography Undergraduate Outstanding Service Award is awarded to an undergraduate student in recognition of their service to the Geography Department. Typically this award is given to a Berkeley Undergrad Geographers Student (BUG’s) group officer who demonstrates a commitment through service to this undergraduate student group and by extension the department.

2017 Parker Bohls
2016 Suzannah Rochelle Morron
2015 Gina Cova
2014 Daniel “CJ” Contreras and Maia Wachtel
2013 Miriam Moses
2012 Paige Enoch and Serena Nitta
2011 Jessica Pizzagoni
2010 Sherrie “Syd” Wayman
2009 Jane Renahan and Jenny Cooper
2008 Laurel Lemontt
2007 Mai Nguyen
2006 Lindsey Rebecca Capps
2005 Lindsey Rebecca Capps
2004 Daniel McChesney-Young
2003 Sarah Syed, Marcy Protteau
2002 Nicholas Seong Chul Buchanan