Faculty

Regular Faculty

Roger Byrne

Associate Professor
Ph.D. University of Wisconsin, 1972
arbyrne@berkeley.edu

Jeffrey Q. Chambers

Associate Professor
Ph.D. University of California, Santa Barbara, 1998
jqchambers@berkeley.edu

John Chiang

Associate Professor
Ph.D. Columbia University, 2001
jchiang@atmos.berkeley.edu

Kurt Cuffey

Professor and Martin Distinguished Chair in Ocean, Earth and Climate Science
Ph.D. University of Washington, 1999
kcuffey@berkeley.edu

Paul Groth

Professor (Geography and Architecture)
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1983
pgroth@berkeley.edu

Gillian Hart

Professor; Co-Chair of Undergraduate Major in Development Studies
PhD. Cornell University, 1978
hart@berkeley.edu

You-Tien Hsing

Professor and Pamela P. Fong Family Distinguised Chair in China Studies (and Graduate Advisor)
PhD. UC Berkeley, 1993
yhsing@berkeley.edu

Darin Jensen

Continuing Lecturer and Department Cartographer
B.A. (Geography), University of California, Berkeley, 1999
djensen@berkeley.edu

Michael Johns

Professor and Undergraduate Faculty Advisor for Human Geography
Ph.D. The Johns Hopkins University, 1990
johns@berkeley.edu

Jake Kosek

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley, 2002.
jake@berkeley.edu

Laurel Larsen

Assistant Professor and Undergraduate Faculty Advisor for Physical Geography
Ph.D. University of Colorado, 2008.
laurel@berkeley.edu

Beatriz Manz

Professor, Geography and Ethnic Studies
Ph.D. State Univ of New York, Buffalo, 1977
bmanz@berkeley.edu

Norman Miller

Adjunct Professor
Ph.D. Meteorology, University of Wisconsin, Madison 1987
nlmiller@berkeley.edu

David O’Sullivan

Associate Professor
PhD University College London 2000, MSc Glasgow 1997, BA Cambridge 1988
dosullivan@berkeley.edu

Robert Rhew

Associate Professor
Ph.D. 2001 Geochemistry, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, UCSD
rrhew@berkeley.edu

Nathan Sayre

Department Chair and Associate Professor
Ph.D. University of Chicago, 1999
nsayre@berkeley.edu

Harley Shaiken

Professor, Education and Geography
B.A. Wayne State University, 1977
hshaiken@berkeley.edu

Dave Wahl

Assistant Adjunct Professor
Ph.D. (Geography), University of California, Berkeley, 2005
dwahl@berkeley.edu

Michael Watts

Professor, Class of 1963 Chair
Ph.D. University of Michigan, 1979
mwatts@berkeley.edu

Faculty Affiliates

Nine faculty members from other departments on campus are affiliated with the Department of Geography. Professors Dietrich, Fortmann, Ingram, and Kondolf may teach classes in Geography and serve as inside members on qualifying exams and thesis committees. Professors Gong, Kirch, Lave, and Radke often serve as outside members of qualifying exams and thesis committees and they sometimes cross-list courses with Geography and co-teach courses with Geography faculty.

William Dietrich

Professor (Earth & Planetary Science and Geography)
bill@geomorph.berkeley.edu

Louise Fortmann

Professor (Environmental Science, Policy and Management and Geography)
Ph.D., Cornell University, 1973.
fortmann@nature.berkeley.edu

Peng Gong

Professor (Environmental Science, Policy and Management and Geography)
Ph.D. University of Waterloo, 1990
gong@nature.berkeley.edu

B. Lynn Ingram

Professor (Earth & Planetary Science and Geography)
Ph.D. Stanford University, 1992
ingram@eps.berkeley.edu

Patrick Kirch

Professor (Anthropology and Geography)
Ph.D. Yale University, 1975
kirch@qal.berkeley.edu

G. Mathias Kondolf

Professor (Landscape Architecture and Geography)
Ph.D. The Johns Hopkins University, 1988
kondolf@berkeley.edu

Jean Lave

Professor Emerita (Social & Cultural Studies in Education, Anthropology, ERG)
jlave@berkeley.edu

John Radke

Associate Professor (Landscape Architecture and Geography)
Ph.D. University of British Columbia, 1983
ratt@gisc.berkeley.edu

Visiting Professors and Lecturers

Emeriti

Orman Granger

Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. University of Toronto, 1974
ogranger@berkeley.edu

Theodore Oberlander

Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. Syracuse University, 1963.
tmogeo@aol.com

Robert Reed

Associate Professor Emeritus
bobandsydreed@yahoo.com

David Stoddart

Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. Cambridge University, 1964
stoddart@berkeley.edu

Richard Walker

Professor Emeritus
B.A. Stanford; Ph.D. The Johns Hopkins University, 1977
walker@berkeley.edu