Professor Emeritus Michael Watts Awarded Ester Boserup Prize

December 20, 2023

Michael Watts

Congratulations to Professor Emeritus Michael Watts, who received the Ester Boserup Prize for outstanding development research! The prize is awarded by the Copenhagen Centre for Development Research, a virtual centre connecting researchers from different disciplines, especially from the University of Copenhagen.

The Ester Boserup Prize is awarded to a scholar whose research has improved and deepened our knowledge of development dynamics and economic history, of poverty and wealth, of marginalization and political participation, and of lawlessness and justice. The committee felt strongly that Watt's work deserved this recognition and will award this honour in Copenhagen in late Spring.

The previous recipients are: James Scott (Yale), Jean-Pierre Olivier de Sardan (Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales, Marseille), Susan Whyte (University of Copenhagen) and Nandini Sundar (Delhi University), Timothy Mitchell (Princeton), Oriana Bandiera (LSE), Ian Scoones (IDS, Sussex), Jun Borras (ISS, the Hague), Tania Li (Toronto), Silvia Cusicnaqui (Bolivia).