Graduate Students

Nick Anderman

Nick Anderman

nanderman@berkeley.edu

logistics, labor, imperialism/race, technics, the world ocean, global political economy, science and technology studies, environmental politics, sound studies

Maggie Camillos

Maggie Camillos

mcamillos@berkeley.edu

cartographic representation, illustration, earth systems sciences, interconnectivity and ecological theory

William Carter

William Carter

william.carter@berkeley.edu

Atlantic History, Historiography, Caribbeanist Historiography, Aquatic History, Political Ecology, Riverine and Littoral Spaces (West/Central Africa), Race (Blackness), Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade, Political Theory

Alex Chow

Alex Chow

alexchow@berkeley.edu

Urban economy; social movement; political ecology; community building; spirituality, subjectivity, and agency

Jillian Crandall

Jillian Crandall

j.crandall@berkeley.edu

(crypto)colonialism; feminist digital geographies; alternative economic movements; land / housing financialization; critical cartographies; design, aesthetics, political economies of datafication

picture not available

Zein Dahir

Evan Dowell

Evan Dowell

evan_dowell@berkeley.edu

Political economies of change and development, digital infrastructure networks, infrastructural interconnections, spatial analysis, comparative postsocialist transformations, socialist legacies, Central Asia, Russia and the Former Soviet Union, China

Sherine Ebadi

Sherine Ebadi

sherine@berkeley.edu

diaspora, migration & displacement, immigration bureaucracy, visa governance, militarism

S.E. Freeman

S.E. Freeman

s.freeman@berkeley.edu

biometrics, surveillance, human (im)mobilities, critical humanitarianism, legacies of colonialism, ethnography, genealogy as method

april l. graham-jackson

april l. graham-jackson

april-l-graham@berkeley.edu

chicagoland, Black geographies, racial capitalism, scale, geomusicology (geography and ethnomusicology), geosonicology (geography and sound studies), Black identity formation, methods | methodologies, Black cultural production, generational studies, urbanization | suburbanization, Black migration, Black feminist | womanist thought, geographical concepts

Adam Hasan

Adam Hasan

Political economy; agrarian studies; Black geographies; postcolonial studies; sovereignty; infrastructure; SWANA (Lebanon)

Adam Jadhav

Adam Jadhav

ajadhav@berkeley.edu

Political ecology, critical development theory, “peasants,” urbanization, neoliberalism, the marine/coastal commons, India, cycling

Tamara Z. Jamil

Tamara Z. Jamil

Carceral geographies; racial capitalism; Black geographies; critical cartography; abolitionist futures; aesthetics of order

Mary Jirmanus

Mary Jirmanus

mjirmanus@berkeley.edu

militant cinema, labor movement, Arab world, gender, feminist geographies, geographies of revolution, feminist internationalism, social reproduction theory

Andrea Lara-Garcia

Andrea Lara-Garcia

alaragarcia@berkeley.edu

 U.S.-Mexico borderlands; territory; property; technology; law; contestation

picture not available

Miri Lavi-Neeman

mirilav@berkeley.edu

Xander Lenc

Xander Lenc

xanderlenc@berkeley.edu

Prisons and mass incarceration, racial capitalism, political ecology, abolition, California, infrastructure, queer theory, settler-colonialism

Kendrick Manymules

Kendrick Manymules

kendrick.manymules@berkeley.edu

Indigeneity/settler colonialism; sovereignty; land and the geologic; dispossession

Ed Martin

Edward Martin

edward.martin@berkeley.edu

Black Geographies, Racial capitalism, Space Making, Development politics, West Africa, Senegal

Jasmine Martin

Jasmine Martin

jasminemartin@berkeley.edu

Black Geographies, Black Atlantic Ecologies, Human-Non-Human Intimacies, Environment, Planning, Afro-Caribbean Futurity

Mikey Mohan

Mikey Mohan

mid_mohan@berkeley.edu

LiDAR & UAV remote sensing, regenerating forests, tropical forest disturbances, forest carbon management, climate change-driven droughts

Sibahle Ndwayana

Sibahle Ndwayana

sibahle@berkeley.edu

Black Geographies, Black Atlantic Geographies, Black Geosonic Epistemologies, Tidalectics, Lusophone, Imperialism, Colonialism, Capitalism

Lauren Pearson

Lauren Pearson

lauren.pearson@berkeley.edu

Geographies of violence, social lives of land, fire, Southern Italy, meridionalism

Clara Perez

Clara Pérez Medina

cbperez@berkeley.edu

 Venezuelan migration, intergenerational trauma, U.S.-Venezuela relations, childhood

Jimena N. Perez Arevalo

Jimena N. Perez Arevalo

jimena_perez@berkeley.edu

Decolonial and abolition geographies, environmental justice, multispecies care and kinship, cultural knowledge, racial capitalism, settler colonialism, Black, Indigenous, and Latinx geographies, and Los Angeles River

Sophia Perez

Sophia Perez

sophiaeperez@berkeley.edu

 Digital media; environmental justice movements; indigeneity 

Maria Pettis

Maria Pettis

maria_pettis@berkeley.edu

Black-Land Relations, Black Ecologies, and Biogeography, New Media and Geographic Representation / Augmented and Mixed Reality, The Lower Mississippi River Delta, Environmental History

picture not available

Juleon Robinson

juleon.robinson@berkeley.edu

Black geographies, social movements, police/prison abolition, racial capitalism

Sam Stein

Sam Stein

samstein@berkeley.edu

Wetlands and river systems; the impact of restoration and management on hydrological systems; sediment transport; residence time; data science; earth science education

Roland Theiss

Roland Theiss

christophertheiss@berkeley.edu

geomorphology, glaciology, finite element analysis, rock mechanics, continuum mechanics, nonlinear fluid mechanics

Vega

Ailén Vega

ailen.vega@berkeley.edu

toxicity/contamination; resource extraction; indigenous & ribeirinho politics; Latin America/ Brazilian Amazon; critical indigenous studies; feminist science and technology studies

Morgan P. Vickers

drowned towns, Black ecologies and geographies, New Deal infrastructure, the U.S. South, environmental history, and dispossession

Anna Weber

Anna Weber

anna_rene@berkeley.edu

tropical rainforests and climate change, remote sensing, phenology, Brazilian Amazon

Alexis Wood

Alexis E. Wood

aew78@berkeley.edu

fringe political movements; affect; digital geographies; critical cartography; politics of climate change; American landscapes