Graduate Students

Nick Anderman

Nick Anderman

nanderman@berkeley.edu

logistics, labor, imperialism/race, technics, the world ocean, global political economy, science and technology studies, environmental politics, sound studies

Keith Brower Brown

Keith Brower Brown

kbbrown@berkeley.edu

The politics of climate crisis, care and construction labor, focusing on California and Brazil. Social reproduction, hegemony, racial capitalism, and political ecology

Maggie Camillos

Maggie Camillos

mcamillos@berkeley.edu

Cartographic representation of earth systems and earth flows, visualizing interconnectivity and dynamism of earth systems, patterns in physical geographic flows, local and indigenous knowledge, disparate environmental impacts of climate change on vulnerable/frontline communities

Phillip Campanile

Phillip Campanile

p.campanile@berkeley.edu

The genealogy of the production of space bears a dialectical relationship to the history of its appropriation

William Carter

William Carter

william.carter@berkeley.edu

Atlantic History, Historiography, Aquatic History, Political Ecology, Riverine and Littoral Spaces (West/Central Africa), Race (Blackness), Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade, Political Theory

Alex Chow

Alex Chow

alexchow@berkeley.edu

Urban economy; social movement; political ecology; community building; spirituality, subjectivity, and agency

picture not available

Zein Dahir

zdahir@berkeley.edu

Evan Dowell

Evan Dowell

evan_dowell@berkeley.edu

Political economy of change, comparative postsocialist transformations, socialist legacies, infrastructure & development, space infrastructure, Russia and the Former Soviet Union, China, spatial analysis, science and technology studies

Sherine Ebadi

Sherine Ebadi

sherine@berkeley.edu

diaspora, migration & displacement, immigration bureaucracy, visa governance, militarism

S. E. Freeman

S.E. Freeman

s.freeman@berkeley.edu

Migration and displacement, humanitarianism, biometrics, human mobility, legacies of colonialism, ethnography, genealogy as method

april l. graham-jackson

april l. graham-jackson

april-l-graham@berkeley.edu

Chicagoland, Black geographies, racial capitalism, scale, geomusicology (geography and ethnomusicology), geosonicology (geography and sound studies), Black identity formation, methods | methodologies, Black cultural production, generational studies, urbanization | suburbanization, Black migration, Black feminist | womanist thought, geographical concepts

Adam Hasan

Adam Hasan

adamhasan@berkeley.edu

energy infrastructure, political economy, postcolonial and decolonial theory, agrarian studies, science and technology studies, SWANA

Adam Jadhav

Adam Jadhav

ajadhav@berkeley.edu

Political ecology, critical development theory, “peasants,” urbanization, neoliberalism, the marine/coastal commons, India, cycling

Tamara Z. Jamil

Tamara Z. Jamil

tjamil@berkeley.edu

Carceral geographies; racial capitalism; Black geographies; critical cartography; abolitionist futures; aesthetics of order

Mary Jirmanus

Mary Jirmanus

mjirmanus@berkeley.edu

militant cinema, labor movement, Arab world, gender, feminist geographies, geographies of revolution, feminist internationalism, social reproduction theory

Sol Kim

Sol Kim

solkim@berkeley.edu

atmospheric rivers, extreme weather events, climate change, machine learning

Andrea Lara-Garcia

Andrea Lara-Garcia

alaragarcia@berkeley.edu

 U.S.-Mexico borderlands; urbanization; subnational/local politics

picture not available

Miri Lavi-Neeman

mirilav@berkeley.edu

Xander Lenc

Xander Lenc

xanderlenc@berkeley.edu

Prisons and mass incarceration, racial capitalism, political ecology, abolition, California, infrastructure, queer theory, settler-colonialism

Kan Liu

Kan Liu

liukan@berkeley.edu

small-scale forestry, agrarian change, small-town development, family reproduction and housing, China

Annie Llyod

Annie Lloyd

annie.lloyd@berkeley.edu

racial capitalism, infrastructure, political economy of urban space, California, Black geographies

Kendrick Manymules

Kendrick Manymules

kendrick.manymules@berkeley.edu

Ed Martin

Edward Martin

edward.martin@berkeley.edu

Black Geographies, Racial capitalism, Space Making, Development politics, West Africa, Senegal

picture not available

Jasmine Martin

jasminemartin@berkeley.edu

Black Geographies, Black Atlantic Ecologies, Human-Non-Human Intimacies, Environment, Planning, Afro-Caribbean Futurity

Evangeline McGlynn

Evangeline McGlynn

emcglynn@berkeley.edu

Digital geography, disaster & war, post-Soviet spaces

Robert Moeller

Robert Moeller

robert_moeller@berkeley.edu

Black Geographies, Cultural Studies, Critical Race and Ethnic Studies, American Studies, Sacramento River, Racial Capitalism, Affect, Memory, Infrastructure, Food Studies

Mikey Mohan

Mikey Mohan

mid_mohan@berkeley.edu

LiDAR & UAV remote sensing, regenerating forests, tropical forest disturbances, forest carbon management, climate change-driven droughts

Sibahle Ndwayana

Sibahle Ndwayana

sibahle@berkeley.edu

Black Geographies, Black Atlantic Geographies, Black Geosonic Epistemologies, Tidalectics, Lusophone, Imperialism, Colonialism, Capitalism

Lauren Pearson

Lauren Pearson

lauren.pearson@berkeley.edu

Geographies of violence, historical political ecology/environmental history, settler colonialism, colonial botanical trade, fire

picture not available

Clara Perez

cbperez@berkeley.edu

Sophia Perez

Sophia Perez

sophiaeperez@berkeley.edu

 Digital media; environmental justice movements; indigeneity 

Maria Pettis

Maria Pettis

maria_pettis@berkeley.edu

Black-Land Relations, Black Ecologies, and Biogeography, New Media and Geographic Representation / Augmented and Mixed Reality, The Lower Mississippi River Delta, Environmental History

picture not available

Juleon Robinson

juleon.robinson@berkeley.edu

Black geographies, social movements, police/prison abolition, racial capitalism

Sam Stein

Sam Stein

samstein@berkeley.edu

Wetlands and river systems; the impact of restoration and management on hydrological systems; sediment transport; residence time; data science; earth science education

Roland Theiss

Roland Theiss

christophertheiss@berkeley.edu

geomorphology, glaciology, finite element analysis, rock mechanics, continuum mechanics, nonlinear fluid mechanics

Vega

Ailén Vega

ailen.vega@berkeley.edu

toxicity/contamination; resource extraction; indigenous & ribeirinho politics; Latin America/ Brazilian Amazon; critical indigenous studies; feminist science and technology studies

Morgan P. Vickers

morgan-vickers@berkeley.edu

drowned towns, Black ecologies and geographies, New Deal infrastructure, the U.S. South, environmental history, and dispossession

Xiaowei Wang

Xiaowei R. Wang

xrw@berkeley.edu

digitization and state capacity, race, space and health, algorithmic ethics

Alexis Wood

Alexis E. Wood

aew78@berkeley.edu

fringe political movements; affect; digital geographies; critical cartography; politics of climate change; American landscapes

Brittany Young

Brittany Helena Young

bhyoung@berkeley.edu

Technology economies, global influence of Silicon Valley, entrepreneurism, nationalism, Pan-Africanism, Ethiopia, STS, Disability

Leonora Zoninsein

Leonora Zoninsein

leonoraz@berkeley.edu

geography of the senses, art & science, emergent taxonomies, speculative aromatics/ atmospheres