Faculty

Regular Faculty

Jeffrey Q. Chambers

Professor
519 McCone Hall
jqchambers@berkeley.edu

Biogeography and the biosphere; forests and climate change; vegetation dynamics and remote sensing; the anthropocene

Professor Sharad Chari

Sharad Chari

Associate Professor
543 McCone Hall
chari@berkeley.edu

Geography as history of the present and as Earth/world-writing, social theory, political economy, development, agrarian studies, labor and work, racial/sexual capitalism, Black radical tradition, biopolitical struggle, oceanic humanities, photography, South Asia, South Africa, Indian Ocean

Professor John Chiang

John Chiang 

Professor
547 McCone Hall
jch_chiang@berkeley.edu

Climate dynamics, climate variability and change, paleoclimate

Kurt Cuffey

Kurt Cuffey

Professor and Martin Distinguished Chair in Ocean, Earth, and Climate Science
510-642-1641
525 McCone Hall
kcuffey@berkeley.edu

Glaciers, climate, geomorphology

Desiree Fields

Desiree Fields

Associate Professor
555 McCone Hall
desireefields@berkeley.edu

Economic geography; urban geography, housing financialization, housing justice, geographical political economy

You-tien Hsing

Professor
545 McCone Hall
yhsing@berkeley.edu

Political economy of development in East Asia (especially China), power and space, cultural and environmental politics, urbanization; regional focus: China

Jake Kosek

Jake Kosek

Associate Professor
585 McCone Hall
jake@berkeley.edu

Nature/Science/Empire, Race and Colonialism,  Critical Natural Histories, Science and Technology Studies, Environmental Politics,Postcolonial Natures, Political/Social Theory, Political Economy,  Racial Capitalism, Political Ecology and Bio/Necropolitics
Professor Laurel Larsen

Laurel Larsen

Associate Professor
595 McCone Hall
laurel@berkeley.edu

Hydroecology, landscape dynamics, complex environmental systems, environmental restoration

Jovan Scott Lewis

Jovan Scott Lewis

Associate Professor and Department Chair
597 McCone Hall
jovan@berkeley.edu

Black Geographies, Economic geography, Caribbean Thought, decoloniality, reparations and repair, poverty and inequality, race (blackness), the Caribbean (Jamaica) African-American communities (Tulsa, OK)

Norman Miller

Adjunct Professor Emeritus
591 McCone Hall
nlmiller@berkeley.edu

Regional climate and hydrology, climate change impacts

Robert Rhew

Associate Professor
510-664-4072
539 McCone Hall
rrhew@berkeley.edu

Trace gas biogeochemistry, effect of land cover on trace gas exchange, biosphere-atmosphere interactions, and atmospheric pollution

Nathan Sayre

Professor and Head Graduate Advisor
599 McCone Hall
nsayre@berkeley.edu

Environmental geography; social dimensions of rangeland ecology and management; environmental history; scale; political economy; climate change; food; regional focus: southwestern US, northwestern Mexico, arid and semiarid rangelands

Brandi Thompson Summers

Brandi Summers

Associate Professor
589 McCone Hall
btsummers@berkeley.edu

Black geographies; urban geography; race and urban aesthetics; design, planning, and architecture; cultural politics of difference

Dave Wahl

Associate Adjunct Professor
107 McCone Hall
dwahl@berkeley.edu

Biogeography; regional focus: Central America, Western US, Pacific Islands

Professor Clancy Wilmott

Clancy Wilmott

Assistant Professor
551 McCone Hall
clancy.wilmott@berkeley.edu

Critical cartography; media geographies; critical GIS and data studies; cultural memory and landscape; politics of representation, textuality and visuality; digitalities, lived, made and inherited.

Lecturers & Visiting Professors

John Isom

John Isom

Lecturer

Cartographic theory and pedagogy, critical and counter cartographies, and maps as rhetorical and critical texts; political ecology, historical ecology, the Tibetan Plateau, environmental governance and environmental human rights

seth Lunine

Seth Lunine

Lecturer
561 McCone Hall
slunine@berkeley.edu

Cities and suburbs; economic geography; cultural landscapes; the S.F. Bay Area, California, and the American west

Diana Negrín da Silva

Diana Negrín da Silva

Lecturer
negrindasilva@gmail.com

Human and cultural geography, race and indigeneity, social movements, Latin America and California

Melanie Feakins

Lecturer
melaniefeakins7@gmail.com

Professor Joel Wanek

Joel Wanek

Lecturer

Experimental & documentary film practices, field recording, street photography , spatial poetics, racial dynamics


Jointly Appointed Faculty

Matt Kondolf

G. Mathias Kondolf

Professor (Primary Department: Landscape Architecture & Environmental Planning)
510-642-2904
300 Wurster Hall
kondolf@berkeley.edu

Hydrology; environmental geology; environmental impact assessment; riparian zone management. Emphasis on stream channel processes as they relate to natural resource management.

Faculty Affiliates

Teresa Caldeira

Professor (City and Regional Planning)
510-642-3619
326C Wurster Hall #1850
tcaldeira@berkeley.edu

Pheng Cheah

Professor (Rhetoric)
510-642-9426
7310 Dwinelle Hall
pcheah@berkeley.edu

Iryna Dronova

Assistant Professor (Landscape Architecture & Environmental Planning)
510-642-2930
304 Wurster Hall
idronova@berkeley.edu

Maggi Kelly

Professor (Environmental Sciences, Policy, and Management)
510-642-7272
121 Mulford Hall
maggi@berkeley.edu

Nancy Peluso

Professor (Environmental Sciences, Policy, and Management)
510-643-2797
139 Giannini Hall
npeluso@berkeley.edu

John Radke

Associate Professor (Landscape Architecture)
510-643-5995
200 Wurster Hall
ratt@berkeley.edu

Isha Ray

Associate Professor (Energy and Resources Group) 510-642-1640
310 Barrows Hall
isharay@berkeley.edu

Raka Ray

Professor (Sociology)
510-642-6081
472 Barrows
rakaray@berkeley.edu

Emeriti

William E. Dietrich

Professor Emeritus (Geography and Earth & Planetary Science)
bill@eps.berkeley.edu

Seeking mechanistic, quantitative understanding of the form and evolution of landscapes. In addition, we are seeking linkages between ecological and geomorphic processes, and building tools to tackle pressing environmental problems.

Gillian Hart

Professor Emerita & Professor of the Graduate School in Geography, UC Berkeley
Distinguished Professor, Humanities Graduate Centre, University of the Witwatersrand 

515A McCone Hall
hart@berkeley.edu

Political economy, social theory, critical human geography; Southern Africa, Southeast Asia

Michael Johns

Professor Emeritus 
johns@berkeley.edu 

Cities, culture, and history in the Americas

Beatriz Manz

Professor Emeritus (Geography and Ethnic Studies) 
bmanz@berkeley.edu 

Latin America, peasantry, migrations, social movements, human rights, political/social/ethnic conflict

Harley Shaiken

Professor Emeritus (Geography and Education)
hshaiken@berkeley.edu

Latin America, labor, information technology, the organization of work, global economic integration, trade

Richard A. Walker

Professor Emeritus
510-525-1969
walker@berkeley.edu 

Michael Watts

Professor Emeritus
515A McCone Hall
mwatts@berkeley.edu

Political economy and political ecology; energy and the environment; Africa; famine; risk and vulnerability; violence and dispossession