Faculty

Regular Faculty

Jeffrey Q Chambers

Professor and Undergraduate Faculty Advisor for Physical Geography
519 McCone Hall
jqchambers@berkeley.edu

Terrestrial ecosystem ecology and biogeography, tropical forests and climate change interactions, forest disturbance and recovery processes, landscape dynamics and remote sensing

Sharad Chari

Associate Professor
543 McCone Hall
chari@berkeley.edu

Geography as history of the present and as Earth/world-writing, social theory, political economy, development, agrarian studies, labor and work, racial/sexual capitalism, Black radical tradition, biopolitical struggle, oceanic humanities, photography, South Asia, South Africa, Indian Ocean.

John Chiang 

Professor
547 McCone Hall
jch_chiang@berkeley.edu

Climate dynamics, climate variability and change, paleoclimate, and applications of climate studies to society

Kurt Cuffey

Professor and Martin Distinguished Chair in Ocean, Earth, and Climate Science
510-642-1641
525 McCone Hall
kcuffey@berkeley.edu

Glaciers, climate, geomorphology

Desiree Fields

Desiree Fields

Assistant Professor
555 McCone Hall
desireefields@berkeley.edu

Economic geography; urban theory; financialization; digital platforms and real estate; urban social movements; constructions of markets; geographical political economy; housing justice

You-tien Hsing

Professor
545 McCone Hall
yhsing@berkeley.edu

Political economy of development in East Asia (especially China), power and space, cultural and environmental politics, urbanization; regional focus: China

Jake Kosek

Associate Professor
585 McCone Hall
jake@berkeley.edu

Cultural politics of nature and difference; cultural geography, science and technology studies; critical race theory; critical cartography; biopolitics; human and the non-human; and environmental politics

Laurel Larsen

Associate Professor
595 McCone Hall
laurel@berkeley.edu

Hydroecology, landscape dynamics, complex environmental systems, environmental restoration

Jovan Scott Lewis

Associate Professor and Department Chair
597 McCone Hall
jovan@berkeley.edu

Black Geographies, Economic geography, Caribbean Thought, decoloniality, reparations and repair, poverty and inequality, race (blackness), the Caribbean (Jamaica) African-American communities (Tulsa, OK)

Norman Miller

Adjunct Professor Emeritus
591 McCone Hall
nlmiller@berkeley.edu

Regional climate and hydrology, climate change impacts

Robert Rhew

Associate Professor
510-664-4072
539 McCone Hall
rrhew@berkeley.edu

Trace gas biogeochemistry, effect of land cover on trace gas exchange, biosphere-atmosphere interactions, and atmospheric pollution

Nathan Sayre

Professor and Head Graduate Advisor
599 McCone Hall
nsayre@berkeley.edu

Environmental geography; social dimensions of rangeland ecology and management; environmental history; scale; political economy; climate change; food; regional focus: southwestern US, northwestern Mexico, arid and semiarid rangelands

brandi summers

Brandi Summers

Assistant Professor
589 McCone Hall
btsummers@berkeley.edu

Black geographies; urban geography; race and urban aesthetics; design, planning, and architecture; cultural politics of difference

Dave Wahl

Associate Adjunct Professor
107 McCone Hall
dwahl@berkeley.edu

Biogeography; regional focus: Central America, Western US, Pacific Islands

Clancy Wilmott

Clancy Wilmott

Assistant Professor
551 McCone Hall
clancy.wilmott@berkeley.edu

Critical cartography; media geographies; critical GIS and data studies; cultural memory and landscape; politics of representation, textuality and visuality; digitalities, lived, made and inherited.

Lecturers & Visiting Professors

John Isom

John Isom

Lecturer

Political ecology, historical ecology, the Tibetan Plateau, environmental governance and environmental human rights; cartographic theory, critical and counter cartographies, and maps as rhetorical and critical texts.

Seth Lunine

Lecturer
561 McCone Hall
slunine@berkeley.edu

Cities and suburbs; economic geography; cultural landscapes; the S.F. Bay Area, California, and the American west

Diana Negrín da Silva

Lecturer
negrindasilva@gmail.com

Human and cultural geography, race and indigeneity, social movements, Latin America and California


Jointly Appointed Faculty

G. Mathias Kondolf

Professor (Primary Department: Landscape Architecture & Environmental Planning)
510-642-2904
300 Wurster Hall
kondolf@berkeley.edu

Hydrology; environmental geology; environmental impact assessment; riparian zone management. Emphasis on stream channel processes as they relate to natural resource management.

Faculty Affiliates

Teresa Caldeira

Professor (City and Regional Planning)
510-642-3619
326C Wurster Hall #1850
tcaldeira@berkeley.edu

Pheng Cheah

Professor (Rhetoric)
510-642-9426
7310 Dwinelle Hall
pcheah@berkeley.edu

Iryna Dronova

Assistant Professor (Landscape Architecture & Environmental Planning)
510-642-2930
304 Wurster Hall
idronova@berkeley.edu

Maggi Kelly

Professor (Environmental Sciences, Policy, and Management)
510-642-7272
121 Mulford Hall
maggi@berkeley.edu

Nancy Peluso

Professor (Environmental Sciences, Policy, and Management)
510-643-2797
139 Giannini Hall
npeluso@berkeley.edu

John Radke

Associate Professor (Landscape Architecture)
510-643-5995
200 Wurster Hall
ratt@berkeley.edu

Isha Ray

Associate Professor (Energy and Resources Group) 510-642-1640
310 Barrows Hall
isharay@berkeley.edu

Raka Ray

Professor (Sociology)
510-642-6081
472 Barrows
rakaray@berkeley.edu

Emeriti

Harley Shaiken

Professor Emeritus (Geography and Education)
hshaiken@berkeley.edu

Latin America, labor, information technology, the organization of work, global economic integration, trade

Paul Groth

Professor Emeritus (Geography and Architecture)
pgroth@berkeley.edu 

Urban life and urban form, cultural landscape studies, the United States, the history of ordinary urban architecture

Gillian Hart

Professor Emerita & Professor of the Graduate School in Geography, UC Berkeley
Distinguished Professor, Humanities Graduate Centre, University of the Witwatersrand 

515A McCone Hall
hart@berkeley.edu

Political economy, social theory, critical human geography; Southern Africa, Southeast Asia

Michael Johns

Professor Emeritus 
johns@berkeley.edu 

Cities, culture, and history in the Americas

Beatriz Manz

Professor Emeritus (Geography and Ethnic Studies) 
bmanz@berkeley.edu 

Latin America, peasantry, migrations, social movements, human rights, political/social/ethnic conflict

Richard A. Walker

Professor Emeritus
510-525-1969
walker@berkeley.edu 

Michael Watts

Professor Emeritus
515A McCone Hall
mwatts@berkeley.edu

Political economy and political ecology; energy and the environment; Africa; famine; risk and vulnerability; violence and dispossession