Faculty

Faculty

Jeffrey Q Chambers

Associate Professor
510-642-3903
519 McCone Hall
jqchambers@berkeley.edu

Terrestrial ecosystem ecology and biogeography, tropical forests and climate change interactions, forest disturbance and recovery processes, landscape dynamics and remote sensing

Sharad Chari

Associate Professor
543 McCone Hall
chari@berkeley.edu

Geography as history of the present and as Earth/world-writing, social theory, political economy, development, agrarian studies, labor and work, racial/sexual capitalism, Black radical tradition, biopolitical struggle, oceanic humanities, photography, South Asia, South Africa, Indian Ocean.

John Chiang 

Professor and Graduate Advisor
547 McCone Hall
jch_chiang@berkeley.edu

Climate dynamics, climate variability and change, paleoclimate, and applications of climate studies to society

Alicia Cowart 

Lecturer
515A McCone Hall
alicia@berkeley.edu

Kurt Cuffey

Professor and Martin Distinguished Chair in Ocean, Earth, and Climate Science
510-642-1641
525 McCone Hall
kcuffey@berkeley.edu

Glaciers, climate, geomorphology

You-tien Hsing

Professor and Pamela P. Fong Family Distinguished Chair in China Studies
510-642-3903
545 McCone Hall 
yhsing@berkeley.edu

Political economy of development in East Asia (especially China), power and space, cultural and environmental politics, urbanization; regional focus: China

Jake Kosek

Associate Professor and Undergraduate Faculty Advisor for Human Geography
510-642-3903
585 McCone Hall
jake@berkeley.edu

Cultural politics of nature and difference; cultural geography, science and technology studies; critical race theory; critical cartography; biopolitics; human and the non-human; and environmental politics

Laurel Larsen

Associate Professor and Undergraduate Faculty Advisor for Physical Geography
510-642-3903
595 McCone Hall
laurel@berkeley.edu

Hydroecology, landscape dynamics, complex environmental systems, environmental restoration

Jovan Scott Lewis

Assistant Professor
597 McCone Hall
jovan@berkeley.edu

Economic geography, constructions and infrastructures of poverty, inequality, race (blackness), economy, and the market; the Caribbean (esp. Jamaica) and African-American communities 

Seth Lunine

Lecturer
561 McCone Hall
slunine@berkeley.edu

Norman Miller

Adjunct Professor Emeritus 
510-642-3903
591 McCone Hall
nlmiller@berkeley.edu

Regional climate and hydrology, climate change impacts

David O'Sullivan

Associate Professor
510-642-3903
589 McCone Hall
dosullivan@berkeley.edu

Urban geography, simulation and modeling, geospatial technologies, Spatial analysis, GIS

Robert Rhew

Associate Professor
510-642-3903
539 McCone Hall
rrhew@berkeley.edu

Trace gas biogeochemistry, effect of land cover on trace gas exchange, biosphere-atmosphere interactions, and atmospheric pollution

Nathan Sayre

Professor and Department Chair
510-664-4072
599 McCone Hall
nsayre@berkeley.edu

Environmental geography; social dimensions of rangeland ecology and management; environmental history; scale; political economy; climate change; food; regional focus: southwestern US, northwestern Mexico, arid and semiarid rangelands

John Stehlin

Lecturer
561 McCone Hall
johnstehlin@berkeley.edu

Urban Geography, Political Economy, Social Theory

Harley Shaiken

Professor (Geography and Education)
5633 Tolman Hall
510-643-5363
hshaiken@berkeley.edu

Latin America, labor, information technology, the organization of work, global economic integration, trade

Dave Wahl

Assistant Adjunct Professor
510-642-3903
591 McCone Hall
dwahl@berkeley.edu

Biogeography; regional focus: Central America, Western US, Pacific Islands

Faculty Affiliates

Teresa Caldeira

Professor (City and Regional Planning)
510-642-3619
326C Wurster Hall #1850
tcaldeira@berkeley.edu

Pheng Cheah

Professor (Rhetoric)
510-642-9426
7310 Dwinelle Hall
pcheah@berkeley.edu

William Dietrich

Professor (Earth & Planetary Science)
510 642-2633
313 McCone Hall
bill@geomorph.berkeley.edu

Iryna Dronova

Assistant Professor (Landscape Architecture & Environmental Planning)
510-642-2930
304 Wurster Hall
idronova@berkeley.edu

Maggi Kelly

Professor (Environmental Sciences, Policy, and Management)
510-642-7272
121 Mulford Hall
maggi@berkeley.edu

G. Mathias Kondolf

Professor (Landscape Architecture)
510-642-2904
300 Wurster Hall
kondolf@berkeley.edu

Nancy Peluso

Professor (Environmental Sciences, Policy, and Management)
510-643-2797
139 Giannini Hall
npeluso@berkeley.edu

John Radke

Associate Professor (Landscape Architecture)
510-643-5995
200 Wurster Hall
ratt@berkeley.edu

Isha Ray

Associate Professor (Energy and Resources Group) 510-642-1640
310 Barrows Hall
isharay@berkeley.edu

Raka Ray

Professor (Sociology)
510-642-6081
472 Barrows
rakaray@berkeley.edu

Sally Thompson

Associate Professor (Civil and Environmental Engineering)
510-642-1980 
661 Davis Hall
thompson@ce.berkeley.edu

Emeriti

Paul Groth

Professor Emeritus (Geography and Architecture)
pgroth@berkeley.edu 

Urban life and urban form, cultural landscape studies, the United States, the history of ordinary urban architecture

Gillian Hart

Professor Emerita & Professor of the Graduate School in Geography, UC Berkeley
Distinguished Professor, Humanities Graduate Centre, University of the Witwatersrand 

551 McCone Hall
hart@berkeley.edu

Political economy, social theory, critical human geography; Southern Africa, Southeast Asia

Michael Johns

Professor Emeritus 
johns@berkeley.edu 

Cities, culture, and history in the Americas

Beatriz Manz

Professor Emeritus (Geography and Ethnic Studies) 
bmanz@berkeley.edu 

Latin America, peasantry, migrations, social movements, human rights, political/social/ethnic conflict

Richard A. Walker

Professor Emeritus
510-525-1969
walker@berkeley.edu 

Michael Watts

Professor Emeritus
555 McCone Hall
mwatts@berkeley.edu

Political economy and political ecology; energy and the environment; Africa; famine; risk and vulnerability; violence and dispossession