Professor Jeff Chambers and his lab produce new satellite images of Camp Fire as it burned through Paradise

November 15, 2018

With tools developed by his UC Berkeley lab in Geography using the Google's Earth Engine platform, Professor Jeff Chambers developed a set of initial images that illustrate the staggering losses to the city of Paradise and the impact of the Camp Fire on the surrounding environment.  His lab will be further developing this work, and providing additional tools and analysis to the community in the coming weeks.  More information in the link below.

Alumnus Trevor Paglen has mid-career survey exhibition at the Smithsonian American Art Museum

August 17, 2018

"Trevor Paglen blurs the lines between art, science, and investigative journalism to construct unfamiliar and at times unsettling ways to see and interpret the world around us. Inspired by the landscape tradition, he captures the same horizon seen by American photographers Timothy O’Sullivan in the nineteenth century and Ansel Adams in the twentieth.

Former Ciriacy-Wantrup Fellow in Geography Penelope Anthias publishes new book on indigenous territorial claims and the limits to decolonization in Bolivia

May 11, 2018
Penelope Anthias's new book Limits to Decolonization: Indigeneity, Territory, and Hydrocarbon Politics in the Bolivian Chaco has been published by Cornell University Press as the flagship volume in the new Cornell Land Series: New Perspectives on Territory, Development, and Environment edited by Wendy Wolford, Nancy Peluso, and Michael Goldman. Penelope completed the manuscript during a Ciriacy-Wantrup Fellowship in Berkeley Geography in 2014-2016, under the supervision of Michael Watts. 

Professor Emerita Gillian Hart awarded 2018 Vega Medal from the Swedish Society for Anthropology and Geography

April 24, 2018

Professor Emerita Gillian Hart was awarded the 2018 Vega Medal from the Swedish Society for Anthropology and Geography for her contributions to Human Geography. The award is made in Human Geography every three years. Previous recipients include Carl Sauer and Allan Pred.